Brentford Quiz – 20/3/15

stroud1Tomorrow’s match is looming ominously ahead of us and given the fact that so many of our rivals are playing against each other, a victory and three points against a Millwall team fighting for their life at the bottom of the table is an absolute imperative. Like every other true Brentford supporter I have total faith in our team to produce the goods when it is necessary and I am very confident that not only we will put on a decent performance tomorrow lunchtime but we shall also come away with the points.

Given that we are fast approaching “squeaky bum time” as it is so inelegantly called, I thought that I would do my best today to take our collective minds off what is certain to be a nervous encounter tomorrow and instead I am setting you all a Brentford Quiz. Apart from the tie-break, every question concerns Brentford players and matches since 1970 so there is really very little excuse for the vast majority of you not to be right on the money with all your answers. So here we go:

1. How many appearances has Kevin O’Connor made for the club?

2. What did Kevin O’Connor do with his last touch of the ball to date in a Brentford shirt?

3. Who are the top five goal scorers for Brentford since 1970? One of them did score for the club before that year.

4. Who has been shown the most red cards for Brentford since 1970, and how many times has he been sent off? Who are second and third in the list?

5. Which current Brentford player has been sent off three times for the club?

6. How many Brentford players has Keith Stroud sent off – so far?

7. Which Brentford player has missed the most consecutive penalty kicks since 1970, and how many in a row did he miss?

8. Who has scored the most penalty kicks for Brentford since 1970?

9. Name the eight Brentford players who have a 100% success record from the penalty spot and have taken more than one penalty for the club?

10. Who was the last Brentford loanee to score two goals on his debut for the club? (Clue: It was in 2009.)

11. Who was the last Bee to score four goals in a game?

12. How many hat-tricks did Lloyd Owusu score in 1998/99 and which club did he score two hat tricks against that season?

13. Which loan goalkeeper was ever-present, named Player of the Year and conceded under a goal per game for Brentford?

14. Ashley Bayes played twelve games for the Bees (it really seemed like it was a hell of a lot more!) How many goals did he concede?

15. Name five Brentford outfield players who have played in goal after the first choice was sent-off or injured?

16. Who never missed a game and played 157 consecutive league games before he left the club?

17. Who was sent off in the twelfth minute of his Brentford debut and never played for us again?

fa18. Name five players who were nominated as team or club captain?

TieBreak Question: Which Brentford personality was involved in the 1933 FA Cup Final between Everton and Manchester City?

Good luck to everyone, please leave your answers in the comments section below this article and I shall announce the winner in the middle of next week. Cheating is allowed if you can find the correct answers anywhere in reference books or online, and as for the prize…. If anyone gets them all correct they shall receive £20 credit from me which they can use in the famed Brentford Programme Shop.

6 thoughts on “Brentford Quiz – 20/3/15

  1. Some cracking questions there Grev. Real brainteasers. I haven’t researched or googled at all so am answering these off the top of my head based on my fading memory of 48 years of watching The Bees. Some answers I know. Some I have had an educated guess at and some iI didn’t have a clue to but had a stab at anyway. So here goes. Let me know how I get on. 1. 501 First Team outings. 2. Winning penalty in shoot out victory over Dagenham after 6-6 draw in August 2014. 3. Roger Cross, Gary Blissett and Lloyd Owusu for sure and I’d go as a punt for Dean Holdsworth and Steve Phillips as the other two. 4. A stinker of a question. I go with no great confidence with Gary Blissett with the most then Jamie Bates then Brian Statham. 5. Its defo not Kev O,Connor. I’d hazard a guess at Tony Craig. 6. Too bloody many ! i,d guess six. 7. Havent a clue on this one off the top of my head. I’ll go Clayton Donaldson with say 3. 8. Another real tricky one. Stan Bowles netted a good few but I’d go for Paul Evans with the most. 9. No chance of getting this one right without researching it Grev so will pass. 10. Jordan Rhodes. Guess! 11. Gotta be Mike Grella in the 6-0 mauling of Bournemouth. The only thing of note he did whilst at the club. 12. Southend was the club. Remember those games really well. Particularly the away game late in the season. I,ll guess 3 in total. 13. Has to be Steve Sherwood. 74/75 season if my memory serves me right. 14. I remember well his debut against Preston and punching one in to his own net and also the five at Barnet in the League Cup. I’d guess 25. 15. Gary Blissett v Southend at home for sure. My memory really fails me on the rest though I am afraid. 16. This has to be either Steve Phillips or Andy Sinton I would imagine. I’d plump for Sinton. 17. Trying desperately to remember this one but can’t at present was fairly recently too I think. Will have to pass. 18. If you just want five Captains I will give you Bobby Ross, Jackie Graham, Terry Evans, Paul Evans, Kev O,Connor. Tie Break. This I know. Denis Pigott who was ball boy at the game. My kind of Bees trivia.

    Like

  2. Bloody brilliant John! Well sleuthed and well remembered. You have about half correct and are in front at the moment. Many congrats, glad you enjoyed the quiz too and I hope it took your mind off today!

    Like

  3. 1. Kevin O’Connor 501
    2. Scored last & winning penalty at Dagenham & Red. After 6-6 draw.
    3. Blissett, Owusu, Phillips, Donaldson, Cross.
    4. Blissett, Craig, Bates.
    5. Tony Craig. 3 times.
    Sheff U, Birmingham, a n other!
    6. 8…..
    7. Probably older than the most recent players….. But a guess, Donaldson 4.
    8. No idea! S Phillips. 9
    9. All guesses!
    Bowles, Evans, Johnson, Phillips, Pritchard, Forshaw, Ross, Graham.
    10. Berahino.
    11. Grella v Bournemouth
    12. 3 hat tricks & 2 v Southend.
    13. Steve Sherwood
    14. 17 goals….. A guess.
    15. Mostly guesses apart from Blissett! Others; McNichol, Shrubb, Grainger & Bence?!?
    16. Sinton? But I thought he missed a game after getting concussed…..Only other player would be Steve Phillips. So Phillips then!
    17. Beadle at Tranmere.
    18. This season? O’Connor, Douglas, Craig, Bidwell & Dean?
    All time there are loads!

    Tie breaker…… No idea.

    Paul

    Like

Leave a Reply

